Agar – All About Agar

Agar is a ingredient made from sea vegetables that works well as a vegan substitute for gelatin.

Where to buy agar

I find the easiest place to get agar is online. Agar is also sold in health food stores, in Asian markets, and in some supermarkets.

Different varieties of agar

Agar is sold in flake and powder forms and can occasionally be found as dried strips. The recipes in my website use powdered agar because it allows for easy and more accurate measuring.

How to store agar

Agar can be stored in a sealed container in a cool, dry place.

Recipes that use agar

Vegan Sour Cream

Vegan Sour Cream Recipe

Sliceable Vegan Cheese

Recipe for Vegan Sliceable Cheese